Not acting “BLACK ENOUGH”

  

Throughout my whole life I’ve delt with family and close friends even people who I don’t know make comments about the way I speak or how I act. I’ve been told I’m the epitome of what black sell outs sound like what they look like. My first question is why is there lack of education in the African American community on identity .African Americans hold heavy identity burdens on our shoulders we all have to speak this way we all have to walk this way and behave this way. It sadness me not on the strong individuals who break away from bondage and set their own standards of what an Individual is but the majority who believe they have to put themselves into a box “THIS IS WHAT BLACK IS”. I have also learned that society has a way of portraying black people both positive and negative just like any other race…but why it is when you use grammar a wide vocabulary, education were held by expectations by both white people and black people. The white people expect you to go above and beyond anyone else or they will doubt your abilities and your power. On the other hand our black brothers and sisters that may or may not be educated or from different backgrounds won’t let you except the ghetto mentality you have to talk ignorant, you have to wear clothes and your behind is hanging out we have to be over masculine and negative. The only thing that comes to mind is oppression! African American people can hold a cloud of negativity I’m black the whole world is out to get me, This world is hard, white American doesn’t understand and that may be true for some of us but what about us who know different some of the most powerful WOMEN are Condoleezza Rice, Oprah Winfrey so there’s no excuse for any one of us to use that victim mentality.  ‎”I’m black, I don’t feel burdened by it and I don’t think it’s a huge responsibility. It’s part of who I am. It does not define me.” –
Oprah Winfrey .Which brings us back to Oppression we come from oppressed people and society of hurt individuals who were victims of the endless cycle of judgment and so these individuals hurt others

 Those of you reading I challenge you to look at yourself and  consciously aware when you do.Everytime you meet someone ,anyone from a different background ,who looks different, talks different individuals who don’t fit into the “box” before you judge them ask yourselves where am I right now? Who do I want to become? How can I get there?  What does this person next to me have to offer or how can I shed my light onto this indiviaul.Please remember you have to be the epitome of what you believe so before you have great demands on anyone look at thy self first, sometimes that reflection isn’t pretty.